Riding the BRP and Surviving the Snake Attack

If you look at the photos in the Bald River Falls photo group you will see at least one photo of a snake.  Today we had an up close and very personal encounter.
 
But first, the ride on the Blue Ridge Parkway.  That is in theory the reason we’ve come to Cherokee and gathered as scooter riders for this event.  The ride is a fairly short one as rides go.  The speed limits on the parkway are 45 mph and we rarely go over the limit.  In fact Kim and I tend to ride pretty fast so the 40 mph or so that we are riding is a little stressful to be honest.  I know that I like to push the limit and ride the curves hard.
 
We rode from the southern terminus here in Cherokee to the Pisgah Inn, about 20 miles short of Asheville).  I think that is about 50 – 55 miles or so.  took about 2.5 hours and we had a couple of stops.
 
Now then as regards a snake attack – As you may know I hate them and they hate me.  Nothing personal, just the little undisputable fact that snakes are – no question here – satan’s little hand puppets!  So a couple of weeks ago I killed a timber rattler that tried to challenge me as I drove down the road.  Fang to tire I took him out.  I knew there would be repercussions and today the first attempt was made.  Just short of the highest point on the BRP the scooter ahead of Kim clipped a snake that was laying in the road.  I saw it flip and as Kim rode by the dang thing tried to snag her – I saw it strike at her.  It freaked me out, I went past it to the right and way out of it’s range.  Dang snakes freak me out.  You know God took their legs away, that is serious stuff, if He doesn’t like them, I don’t like them.
 
Kim got a new doo-rag, it is covered with skulls, but later on we got her another one with flags on it.  She was not too sure about the skulls, I might take it on.
 
Lunch at the Pisgah Inn was nice.  We are about 30 in our group and the Pisgah Inn is very busy on the weekends so Kim and I decided to get a box lunch and skip the restaurant scene.  It was nice to sit out in the shade and eat our lunch.  Kim had turkey and I had ham.  No pickles and they didn’t give us the chips.  We didn’t miss the chips.
 
Our ride back to Cherokee was nice, we left the BRP and went through Waynesville to the Maggie Valley.  Waynesville was jammed packed.  The sidewalks were covered with pedestrians and the shops were full.  Looked like a real nice place.  We may make that our next destination for a weekend.
 
Time to pack and get ready for the ride home.  Today we rode a whopping 128 miles total, not very far, but it is hot and that takes a little starch out of us.

About Kim & Dale Anton

We are average empty nesters. Dale works, Kim volunteers and we do most everything together, because we enjoy each others company very much..
This entry was posted in Motorcycle. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment